Inclusive, collaborative dialogues focused on topics crucial to women’s healing are necessary if we want to continue moving forward in recovery—together.

Women in or seeking recovery, clinicians, academics, treatment professionals and policy makers are encouraged to join us for these free virtual events.

Inclusive, collaborative dialogues focused on topics crucial to women’s healing are necessary if we want to continue moving forward in recovery—together.

Women in or seeking recovery, clinicians, academics, treatment professionals and policy makers are encouraged to join us for these free virtual events.

Join our next session!

Healing the Effects of Racism for Black Women in Recovery

A Critical Conversation (All Women Welcome)

Sunday October 18th
11:00 AM Pacific/1:00 PM Central/2:00 PM Eastern
90 minutes

Followed by:

Closed Roundtable Conversation (Black Women Only)
1:00 PM Pacific/3:00 PM Central/ 4:00 PM Eastern
60 minutes

Our Hosts & Presenters

JOCELLYN HARVEY

SHARI HAMPTON

ESTER NICHOLSON

VALERIE MASON-JOHN

Program Information

We (Shari, Ester, Valerie & Jocellyn) are hosting this critical conversation because racism is a reality for Black women in recovery. It prevents us from having a safe space to heal that reflects who we are and honors our life experience. But we have known this all along. We just can’t ignore it any longer. How do we begin to heal the effects of racism? We begin with acknowledgement. We begin by first being our authentic selves. We begin to heal by creating authentic spaces where we are welcomed and supported to open up, be vulnerable, and talk honestly about racism in all of its manifestations. Our lives and our recovery depend on it.

We welcome you to join us (for free) on October 18th for this critical conversation and opportunity to be seen, heard, and held. Your healing journey matters, and you don’t have to recover alone.

YOUR HOST: Jocellyn Harvey

PRESENTATIONS
Shari Hampton: Racism and Your Recovery: Becoming Aware

Valerie Mason-John: Coming Home to Our Beautiful Black Bodies

Ester Nicholson: Overcoming Racial Trauma Using the Steps and EFT [Emotional Freedom Technique]

Taryn Strong: Offering Amends from the Heart of a White Woman in Recovery to Our Black Sisters in Recovery

SHE RECOVERS® Foundation is committed to reducing stigma and provide resources to women in or seeking recovery through public awareness programs and education of key policymakers, stakeholders, and the general public. Starting in October 2020, the Foundation will host a series of provocative conversations featuring behavioral health professionals and key influencers. CEU’s available when possible.

Upcoming Critical Conversations

For 2020/2021 include:

  • Recovering from Loss and Surviving Grief
  • Anxiety, Depression, and the Imperative of Creating Connection
  • Understanding Intergenerational Trauma
  • Healing the Effects of Racism for Indigenous Women in Recovery
  • Eating Disorders and the Imperative to Dismantle Diet Culture
  • Understanding the Debilitating Effects of Process Addictions

We’re stronger together.

LET’S CONTINUE TO CONNECT.

For news about upcoming events, retreats, online programs, new products, inspiration and so much more...sign up for our newsletter and join our growing community.

Join the She Recovers movement!

For news about upcoming events & retreats, new products, amazing articles and so much more, sign up for our newsletter.

You have Successfully Subscribed!